107th Grey Cup

The 107th edition of the Grey Cup goes down tonight at McMahon Stadium in Calgary, Alberta.  The game features Eastern Division Champions the Hamilton Tiger-Cats facing off against the Winnipeg Blue Bombers.

The Tiger-Cats finished first in the East with the best record in the CFL (15-3), including going 9-0 at home – 10-0 when you count the Eastern Final (which they beat the Edmonton Eskimos.)  The Blue Bombers finished with a record of 11-7, good for third place in the West and beat out the Calgary Stampeders and the Saskatchewan Roughriders.

Both teams are looking to win their first Grey Cup in the 21st Century.  The Blue Bombers have not won the Grey Cup since 1990, while the Tiger-Cats last won the Grey Cup in 1999.  The Blue Bombers are 10-14 in the Grey Cup game, while the Tiger-Cats are 8-12.

The Tiger-Cats won both their meetings during the regular season.  This is the first meeting of the two teams in the Grey Cup since 1984.  They have met eight times in the Grey Cup, with the Blue Bombers winning five of those meetings.

This is the fifth time that Calgary has hosted the Grey Cup.

About Edward Brain

I am a long time condo activist and have a background in Business Administration.
This entry was posted in Canadian Football and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.