2015 Inductees into Cooperstown

The Baseball Hall of Fame (Cooperstown) has announced the inductees for the 2015 induction ceremony.  For the first time since 1955, four players received sufficient votes to be inducted.

The four inductiees are Randy Johnson (97.3%), Pedro Martinez (91.1%), John Smoltz (82.9%), and Craig Biggio (82.7%)

Let’s take a look at the inductees:

Randy Johnson

Mr. Johnson, also known by his nickname of “The Big Unit”, was a major league pitcher from 1988 to 2009.  He played for six teams during his career:  Montreal Expos (1988-1989), Seattle Mariners (1989-1998), Houstan Astros (1998), Arizona Diamondbacks (1999-2004, 2007-2008), New York Yankees (2005-2006), and San Francisco Giants (2009.)  He was a 10 time All-Star (1990, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004), won a World Series ring (2001), was a World Series MVP (2001), was a Triple Crown winner in 2001, and was a five time Cy Young award winner (1995, 1999, 2000, 2001, and 2002.)  Mr. Johnson pitched a no hitter in 1990, and a perfect game in 2004.  This was the first year he was eligible for election.

Pedro Martinez

Mr. Martinez pitched for 18 years from 1992-2009 for five different teams: Los Angeles Dodgers (1992–1993), Montreal Expos (1994–1997), Boston Red Sox (1998–2004) ,New York Mets (2005–2008), and Philadelphia Phillies (2009.)  He was a one time Worlde Series winner (2004), was selected to eight All-Star games (1996, 1997, 1998, 1999,2000, 2002, 2005, and 2006.)  Mr. Martinez was also a three time Cy Young award winner (1997, 1999, 2000), Triple Crown winner (1999), Five time ERA Champion (1997, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, and three time AL strikeout leader (1999, 2000, 2002.)  Mr. Martinez was elected in his first year of eligibility.

John Smoltz

Mr. Smoltz was a pitcher for 21 years with three teams: Atlanta Braves (1988–1999, 2001–2008), Boston Red Sox (2009), and St. Louis Cardinals (2009.)  Mr. Smoltz was a one time World Series winner (1995), eight time All Star (1989, 1992, 1993, 1996, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2007), one time Cy Young award winner (1996), one time NLCS MVP (1992), and a one time Silver Slugger winner (1997.)  The Atlanta Braves have also retired his number (#29.)  Mr. Smoltz was also elected in his first year of eligibility.

Craig Biggio

Mr. Biggio played 20 years in the majors, all with the Houstan Astros.  He was a second baseman, catcher, and outfieldeer during his career.  He would be selected to seven All Star games (1991, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997,1998), Five time Silver Slugger (1989, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1998), four time Gold Glover (1994, 1995, 1996, 1997), and the 2007 Roberto Clemente Award winner.  His uniform (#7) was retired by the Astros the year after he retired.  Mr. Biggio was elected to the Hall of Fame in the third year of eligibility.

Pedro Martinez, and Randy Johnson both have a Canadian connection as both played for the Montreal Expos early in their careers.  It is interesting to think what would have happened if both players had stayed with the Expos during their prime.

Congratulations should go out to this year’s inductees.

About Edward Brain

I am a long time condo activist and have a background in Business Administration.
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.