Jack Morris Deserves a spot in Cooperstown

Jack Morris is eligible for the 15th and final time to enter the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown.  I believe he should be there.

Jack Morris is a four time World Series winner, having won two World Series with the Toronto Blue Jays, and one with both the Detroit Tigers and Minnesota Twins.  He pitched the deciding game of the 1991 World Series for the Twins and was on three straight World Series winning teams (1991 with the Twins, plus the 1992 and 1993 World Series with the Blue Jays.

Jack Morris’ performance in Game Seven of the 1991 World Series is legendary.  He pitched a 10 inning complete game shutout against the Atlanta Braves to allow for a 1-0 victory for the Minnesota Twins and winning the World Series.  How many pitchers, especially nowadays, would be allowed to pitch 10 innings?  I’d be guessing few – and few aces at that – would be allowed to.

Morris is a five time All-Star, having made the All-Star teams in 1981, 1984, 1985, 1987, and 1991.  He was the 1984 and 1991 Babe Ruth Award winner, as well as the 1991 World Series M.V.P. and is one of only two pitchers to have won two Babe Ruth Awards – the other being Sandy Koufax.

Morris’ career numbers breakdown as follows:  254 wins, 186 losses, 3.90 E.R.A., and 2,478 strikeouts.

Highlights of his career include:

  • He lead pitchers in wins during the 1980’s with 162 wins.
  • His 254 career wins rank #43 on the all time wins list.  There are 20 players who have won at least 200 career wins who are in the Hall of Fame, yet won less than his 254.
  • He was the Opening Day starter for four different teams, and was named the Opening Day starter a record 14 times from 1980 to 1993.
  • His 2,478 strikeouts ranks him at #32 in career strikeouts.  Again, 20 pitchers on the 100 list in strikeouts have ranked lower than Jack Morris but have been inducted into the Hall of Fame.
  • Pitched a no-hitter in 1984.
  • Won at least 20 games twice: in 1986 with 21 wins, and in 1992 with 22 wins.
  • He was the A.L. Wins leaders in 1981, and 1992; the A.L. Strikeouts Leader in 1983; and the A.L. Shutouts Leader in 1986.
  • We was the runner-up to the A.L. Wins Leader in 1984 with to Mike Boddicker, and in 1986 to Roger Clemens.

Jack Morris is a proven winner – he did win the most games during the 1980’s, and was a four time World Series winner.  He deserves to be in the Hall of Fame.  Let’s hope he gets elected to the Hall of Fame this year, in his 15th and final year of eligibility.

About Edward Brain

I am a long time condo activist and have a background in Business Administration.
This entry was posted in Toronto Blue Jays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.